PoliticsBy-elections: BJP's crushing defeat on 4 out of 7 seats, INDIA's sting...

By-elections: BJP’s crushing defeat on 4 out of 7 seats, INDIA’s sting in Ghosi, SP hoisted the flag

Ghosi in Uttar Pradesh, Dumri in Jharkhand, Dhupguri in West Bengal and Puthupalli in Kerala were defeated by the BJP. In the bypolls, the BJP won Baksanagar and Dhanpur in Tripura and Bageshwar in Uttarakhand.

BJP’s crushing defeat on 4 out of 7 seats in the assembly by-elections, India’s sting in Ghosi.

The picture of the results of the by-elections held on 7 assembly seats in 6 states of the country has become almost clear. In the by-elections held on these 7 assembly seats, BJP has suffered a crushing defeat on 4 seats. At the same time, BJP has saved its face by winning two seats in Tripura and one seat in Uttarakhand. On September 5, voting was held for by-elections in Dhupguri in West Bengal, Dhanpur and Boxnagar seats in Tripura, Puthupalli seat in Kerala, Ghosi seat in UP, Bageshwar seat in Uttarakhand and Dumri seat in Jharkhand, whose votes were counted today.

Yogi-Modi failed in UP’s Ghosi, India’s sting

The by-election on Ghosi seat of Mau district in Uttar Pradesh was the most discussed. Ghosi seat was also a prestige election for the India alliance with BJP and Samajwadi Party. Here Sudhakar Singh of Samajwadi Party has registered a big victory by defeating BJP’s Dara Singh Chauhan. This seat had become vacant when Dara Singh Chauhan switched from SP to BJP. This seat had also become important because the parties of the India Alliance had supported the Samajwadi Party here.

INC’s Chandy Oommen wins in Kerala’s Puthupalli

Congress-led UDF’s Chandy Oommen has registered a landslide victory in the by-election to the Puthupalli assembly seat in Kerala. Congress, CPM-led LDF’s Jack C Thomas and BJP-led NDA’s Liginlal were contesting on the seat, which fell vacant after the death of Congress veteran Oommen Chandy. But Chandy Oman broke all the records and won the record.

TMC wins Dhupguri seat of West Bengal

In West Bengal’s Dhupguri seat, there was a contest between BJP and TMC-Congress Left alliance in the by-election, in which the alliance has registered victory. The seat fell vacant after the death of BJP MLA Bishnu Pad Rai. Here TMC’s Nirmal Chandra Rai defeated BJP’s Taapsee Rai in a tough fight. This victory has many implications for TMC, as in the last Lok Sabha elections, BJP had won all the seats in North Bengal and in the last assembly elections also, BJP snatched Dhupugudi seat from TMC. But now it seems that TMC has managed to regain some of the lost ground in North Bengal.

JMM wins in Dumri by-election of Jharkhand

JMM candidate Baby Devi has won the bypoll to Dumri assembly seat in Jharkhand’s Giridih district by defeating BJP-backed AJSU candidate Yashoda Devi. India Alliance candidate Baby Devi Baby Devi has defeated her nearest rival Yashoda Devi of NDA by about 17 thousand votes. The winner Baby Devi is the Minister of Prohibition of Liquor and Prohibition in the Hemant Soren government of the state. Soren had given him a place in the cabinet even before becoming an MLA. It was mandatory for him to register a victory in this election to continue as a minister.

BJP’s victory on Bageshwar seat of Uttarakhand

BJP has won the by-election in Bageshwar assembly seat of Uttarakhand. There were 5 candidates in the fray in the by-election on this seat. BJP’s Parvati Das, Congress’ Basant Kumar, UKD’s Arjun Dev, Uttarakhand Parivartan Party’s Bhagwat Kohli and SP’s Bhagwati Prasad were in the fray. The Bageshwar seat, which fell vacant after the death of BJP MLA Chandan Ram Das, has been reclaimed by the BJP.

BJP wins both the seats of Tripura

In the by-elections held on Dhanpur and Boxanagar assembly seats of Sipahijala district in Tripura, BJP has won both the seats. There was a face-to-face contest between CPM and BJP in Tripura by-election. Congress and Tipra Motha did not field any candidate on both the seats, giving lead to CPM. In Dhanpur, a direct fight was being considered between BJP’s Bindu Debnath and CPM’s Kaushik Chandra. By-election was held in Dhanpur after the resignation of Union Minister Protima Bhowmik. On the Boxanagar seat, BJP’s Tafazzal Hussain was contesting against CPM’s Mizan Hussain. This seat had become vacant after the death of CPM MLA from Boxanagar, Samson Haque in July.


Daily Global Timeshttps://dailyglobaltimes.com
Daily Global Times provides the latest news from India and around the world. Read the latest headlines and news stories, from Politics, Entertainment, Tech and more.

Related Article

Editors Picks