BusinessDharmbir Singh again entered the field to score a hat-trick of victory...

Dharmbir Singh again entered the field to score a hat-trick of victory from Bhiwani-Mahendragarh –

Ajay Malhotra/HP

Bhiwani, March 15

BJP has expressed confidence in Dharambir Singh for the third time in a row from Bhiwani-Mahendragarh parliamentary seat, which is connected to Mahendragarh district of Ahirwal and extends till Rajasthan border. Union Minister Rao Inderjit Singh is considered to have played the biggest role in getting the ticket to Dharmbir Singh, who was in the fray for a hat-trick of victories. That means now ‘victory’ will also depend on ‘Indra’. Rao Inderjit Singh’s influence cannot be denied in four circles of Mahendragarh district – Narnaul, Nangal-Chaudhary, Mahendragarh and Ateli, and also in Dadri and Badhda circles.

In Congress, there is mainly competition between two leaders for the ticket. Apart from former MP Shruti Chaudhary, there is a race going on for the ticket of Mahendragarh MLA Rao Dan Singh. That is, how the contest will be on Bhiwani-Mahendragarh seat will be decided only after the Congress candidate enters the fray.

It is certain that this time there are chances of an interesting contest on this seat also.

These are caste and regional equations

There are more than 17 lakh 70 thousand voters in Bhiwani-Mahendragarh parliamentary seat. Among these, the largest number are more than four lakh Jat voters and the second largest number are more than 3 lakh Yadav voters. The Parliament constituency includes four constituencies of Mahendragarh district – Narnaul, Nangal-Chaudhary, Mahendragarh and Ateli, besides two constituencies of Charkhi Dadri district – Dadri and Badhada. Similarly, Bhiwani, Loharu and Tosham constituencies of Bhiwani district are also part of this parliamentary seat.

Clash among Congress veterans too

Congress bigwigs are also at loggerheads over the ticket for Bhiwani-Mahendragarh seat. Hooda camp where Rao is pushing for donations. Whereas SRK Group i.e. Kumari Selja, Randeep Singh Surjewala and Kiran Choudhary are campaigning for Shruti. Shruti’s mother Kiran Chaudhary is an MLA from Tosham and has been the leader of the Congress Legislative Party. Kiran will fight till the last breath for her daughter’s ticket.

position of circles

Out of the nine constituencies of this parliamentary constituency, Ghanshyam Saraf in Bhiwani, JP Dalal in Loharu, Sitaram Yadav in Ateli, Omprakash Yadav in Narnaul and Abhay Singh Yadav in Nangal-Chaudhary are BJP MLAs. While Kiran Chaudhary is representing Tosham, Rao Dan Singh is representing Congress in Mahendragarh. Sombir Singh Sangwan is an independent MLA from Dadri and Naina Singh Chautala is the JJP MLA from Badhda.

Rao’s influence in Badhra and Dadri also

In the initial phase, it was believed that it would not be easy for Dharambir Singh to get the ticket this time. After the name of Union Minister Bhupendra Yadav came into discussion from Bhiwani-Mahendragarh, BJP people had almost assumed that Dharambir Singh could be made to contest the Assembly elections instead of Lok Sabha this time. Sources say that in the party’s internal survey, when cutting Dharambir Singh’s ticket appeared risky, the party decided to field him again in the electoral battle on the recommendation of Inderjit Singh. Apart from BJP National Secretary Omprakash Dhankhar, BJP Parliament Board member and former MP Dr. Sudha Yadav was also considered a strong contender from this seat, but BJP did not bother to go beyond the likes and dislikes of Inderjit Singh. Twice in a row – in 2014 and 2019, former CM Ch. Dharambir Singh, who defeated Bansi Lal’s granddaughter Shruti Chaudhary in the elections, has old relations with Rao Inderjit Singh. There was also a ‘trio’ of MPs in Haryana politics. These include Rao Inderjit Singh, Dharmbir Singh and Sonipat MP Ramesh Chandra Kaushik. However, this time it is certain that this ‘trio’ will break. There is no remote hope of Ramesh Chandra Kaushik getting a ticket from Sonipat. Rao Inderjit Singh understands the pulse of this parliamentary seat very well. Before the Gurugram parliamentary seat came into existence after the last delimitation, Rao Inderjit Singh had been MP from Mahendragarh. However, BJP has fielded Dharmbir Singh in the election battle. Now everyone’s eyes are on the Congress candidate.

Daily Global Times
Daily Global Times
Daily Global Times provides the latest news from India and around the world. Read the latest headlines and news stories, from Politics, Entertainment, Tech and more.

Related Article

Editors Picks