GlobalDisaster and failure for Checo in the Japanese GP: Sergio Pérez abandons...

Disaster and failure for Checo in the Japanese GP: Sergio Pérez abandons the race on Lap 15

He Japanese Grand Prix It was, in general, a change of emotions. Full of accidents and inaccuracies, unfortunately, one of the victims of these situations was Sergio Pérez, who had to abandon the race just in Lap 15 of the Suzuka Circuit.

Although this marked a defeat for the Mexican driver, his teammate, Max Verstappenonce again achieved a conquest, arriving once again at number one on the podium and, in celebration for both drivers, led to Red Bull to win the Constructors Championship of the Formula 1.


Checo retired on lap 15 of 53 after suffering damage to his car after colliding with the Dane Kevin Magnussen in an overtaking attempt.

IT MAY INTEREST YOU: Mexicans in Europe: Chucky Lozano stands out and scores with PSV in the Eredivisie

The driver from Guadalajara thus closed a bad weekend, in which he qualified fifth after recognizing that he had no “one-lap rhythm” and decided with his team to focus on the configuration for a race that began with a crash and ended with another.

At the start, in a race incident when he was overtaken by the Spanish Carlos Sainz (Ferrari), he touched the British Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) and had to go into the pits to change his front wing.

Stop after which he received a five-second penalty for overtaking during the safety car period.

And on lap 15, while he was on a mission to make up positions, Perez He touched Magnussen at the hairpin of the second sector, hitting him and causing him to spin.

The Mexican broke the front wing again, went into the pits to change it, but, as he expressed on the radio, he didn’t feel the car well and ended up retiring.


The Dutchman Max Verstappen won the Japanese Grand Prix race in which he clearly dominated and in which the two McLarens, of the British Lando Norris and the Australian Oscar Piastri, accompanied him on the podium, in second and third position, respectively.

Thanks to him, the team Red Bull won the Formula 1 Constructors’ Championship.

IT MAY INTEREST YOU: To the rhythm of the Guadalajara syrup, Maria Sakkari is champion of the Guadalajara Open

Max Verstappen, with 25 points for first place and the extra point for the fastest lap, achieved the necessary units for his team’s victory.

After 17 dates completed, only 16 races completed due to the cancellation of Emilia Romagna, the Red Bull drivers won 15 times, 13 by Verstappen and another two by Czech Perez.

There are six competitions left. The next event in the top category of motorsport will be Qatar and in Lusail Verstappen could be crowned world champion, the third in a row “Mad Max”.


Daily Global Times
Daily Global Times provides the latest news from India and around the world. Read the latest headlines and news stories, from Politics, Entertainment, Tech and more.

Related Article

Editors Picks