SportsEngland's Test team announced for the series against New Zealand, the return...

England’s Test team announced for the series against New Zealand, the return of these prolific bowlers

London. The England and Wales Cricket Board has announced a 13-man squad for the first two matches of the Test series against New Zealand. The first match of the series between the two countries will be played from June 2 at the historic ground of Lord’s. Experienced fast bowlers James Anderson and Stuart Broad have returned in the 13-man squad announced by the ECB. Both these bowlers did not get a place in the team during the West Indies tour. Many people will have their eyes on the series against New Zealand. This series will mark the beginning of a new era for the Test team of England.

Brendon McCullum will also be eyeing during this Test series. Recently, he has been made the head coach of the England men’s team. Apart from this, some changes have also been made in the Test team of England. Yorkshire batsman Harry Brooke and Durham pacer Matthew Potts have been included in the Test squad for the first time. Brooke has made his T20 International debut this year. At present, he has done well in the County Championship.

beginning of new era

“This marks the beginning of a new era for our Test team under the leadership of Ben Stokes and Brendon McCullum,” said England men’s cricket team managing director Rob Key in an official statement. He further added, “We have selected an exciting team loaded with youthful zeal and experience. Which will challenge New Zealand in the Test series next month. We have included Harry Brooke and Matthew Potts, who have done exceptionally well in the County Championship.”

read also

Umran Malik breaks Jasprit Bamurah’s record, becomes youngest Indian bowler to do so

‘Dale Steyn sir stands with me in the nets for 3 hours… Punch celebration has become a habit now’

Ben Stokes new captain

Joe Root resigned from the Test captaincy of England after the humiliating defeats in the Ashes series against Australia and the Test series against the West Indies. After that the ECB has appointed Ben Stokes as the new Test captain. Experienced bowlers James Anderson and Stuart Broad also did not find a place in the team on the West Indies tour. This will be the first time since the Ashes series that Anderson and Broad will play a Test match for England.

England’s 13-man squad: Ben Stokes (captain), Joe Root, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Harry Brooke, Jack Crowley, Ben Fox, Jack Leach, Alex Liege, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Matthew Potts.

Tags: Ecb, England cricket team, James Anderson, New Zealand cricket, Stuart Broad

Daily Global Times
Daily Global Times provides the latest news from India and around the world. Read the latest headlines and news stories, from Politics, Entertainment, Tech and more.

Related Article

Editors Picks