SportsOnly 4 players from World Cup got a chance in the series,...

Only 4 players from World Cup got a chance in the series, selectors chose T20 team

New Delhi. The Indian cricket team will now leave behind the ICC ODI World Cup defeat and move forward on a new mission. The 5-match T20 series between India and Australia is going to start from Thursday this week. The selectors have announced Team India for this. Most of the 15-member team consists of players who have returned from participating in the Asian Games. Only 4 players have been kept from the team playing the World Cup. However, Shreyas Iyer has been given a place in the team for the last two matches.

Australia broke Team India’s dream of winning in the final of the ODI World Cup. Team India, which missed the title at home, will now start preparing for the T20 World Cup. This tournament is to be played in just 7 months for which the series against Australia will be the first step. The team selectors adorned with youth decided to field them in a 5-match series. Suryakumar Yadav has been given the captaincy while Rituraj Gaikwad has been made the vice captain. Shreyas Iyer will join the team as vice captain in the last T20.

Only 4 players from the World Cup team
Among the players who have played ICC ODI World Cup for India, there are only 3 players who have been selected for the T20 series against Australia. Explosive batsman Suryakumar Yadav has been given the captaincy. Apart from wicketkeeper batsman Ishan Kishan, only fast bowler Prasidh Krishna has been included in the team selected for the T20 series.

rest to the scoundrels
Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are not being selected in the team since T20 World Cup 2022. KL Rahul, Jasprit Bumrah have been rested. Hardik Pandya is injured while it has been decided to keep Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj out of this format. Shreyas Iyer will not play the first three matches while will join the team as vice-captain in the last two matches.

India-Australia T20 series schedule

23 November 1st T20 Visakhapatnam

26th November 2nd T20 Trivandrum

28 November 3rd T20 Raipur

1 December 4th T20 Guwahati

3 December 5th T20 Bangalore

India’s T20 team against Australia
Suryakumar Yadav (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Verma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wicketkeeper), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

Note: Shreyas Iyer will join the team as vice captain in the last two matches.

Tags: India vs Australia, Ishan kishan, prasidh krishna, Suryakumar Yadav, world cup 2023

Daily Global Times
Daily Global Times provides the latest news from India and around the world. Read the latest headlines and news stories, from Politics, Entertainment, Tech and more.

Related Article

Editors Picks