SportsQuinton de Kock-KL Rahul pair created history, made IPL's biggest record in...

Quinton de Kock-KL Rahul pair created history, made IPL’s biggest record in opening

New Delhi. Lucknow Super Giants Opener quinton de kock (Quinton De Kock) and KL Rahul (KL Rahul) duo Kolkata Knight Riders against IPL (IPL) 210 runs partnership in the 66th league match. This is the highest partnership for the first wicket in the history of IPL. This is the first time in this T20 league when no wicket of any team fell and its openers batted full 20 overs.

In this match played at the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai, Quinton de Kock scored an unbeaten 140 off 70 balls. This is the best innings of de Kock’s T20 career. Captain KL Rahul gave full support to de Kock from the other end. Rahul returned to the pavilion after scoring an unbeaten 68. Talking about the highest partnership for any wicket overall in IPL, it is the second highest partnership.

Also read: KL Rahul crosses 500 mark for the fifth time in a row, David Warner’s record in danger

‘Today I was a spectator…’ KL Rahul praised something like seeing de Kock’s best innings of T20 career

Bairstow and Warner’s record destroyed

Earlier, the record for the highest opening partnership was held by the opening pair of Jonny Bairstow and David Warner, who played for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the year 2019 against Royal Challengers Bangalore. Both had added 185 runs for the first wicket. In the year 2017, the pair of Gautam Gambhir and Chris Lynn added 183 runs for the first wicket against Gujarat Lions while playing for Kolkata Knight Riders.

Ranked third in terms of highest personal score in IPL

KL Rahul has also been involved in the fourth major partnership in the opening of IPL. Playing for Punjab Kings, the opening pair of Rahul and Mayank Agarwal shared a partnership of 183 runs against Royal Challengers Bangalore in the year 2020. De Kock has reached number three among the batsmen who have played the biggest innings in IPL. Chris Gayle and Brendon McCullum are at number one and second place respectively in this list.

KL Rahul reached the 500 mark for the fifth consecutive season

KL Rahul has become the third Indian to score 500 or more runs in five IPL seasons. Earlier this feat has been achieved by Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan. Rahul has scored five hundred or more runs in five consecutive seasons, while Virat and Dhawan have done this feat in different seasons.

Tags: IPL, IPL 2022, KL Rahul, Kolkata Knight Riders, Lucknow Super Giants, Number Game, Quinton de Kock

Daily Global Times
Daily Global Times provides the latest news from India and around the world. Read the latest headlines and news stories, from Politics, Entertainment, Tech and more.

Related Article

Editors Picks